RE: Big changes in exclusive games | New Microslop console | Highguard | Stellar Blade 2 | F76 free add-on | Wolf Among Us 2 | Sony dynamic pricing | Bloomberg report on Sony | New Xbox | New games from Capcom, Konami, and more | Declining physical sales

You are viewing a single comment's thread:

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

I wish it were so, but unfortunately, Bandai + games based on anime licenses = usually a failure (or at most, a mediocre title). I haven't seen SAO in anime form because when the hype started, it was terribly overrated and I was sick of it for a long time xD Thanks for the kind words! :)



0
0
0.000
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});
5 comments
avatar

Mmm i'm completly desagree with this comment, Bandai have amazing games from anime titles like DB, Jojo's etc. And many others. But is you don0t like Bandai games is fine haha. And well SAO for me, i don't know about others, was a really good serie. I don't know if i saw during the hype or out because i download for a pirate anime web long time go.

avatar

I can't agree with that. Almost every game based on an anime license I've played (or any friend I've ever played with more than a few times about games) has been mediocre at best. There are games, like FighterZ, that are actually on par with Tekken/Mortal Kombat (meaning, very good titles in their category – my friend, a Tekken pro who hates DBZ, praises it because he knows Arc System Works), but that's not always the case.

Games based on licenses are usually cash grabs based on the simplest of instincts and consumer ignorance. The single-player campaign in Kakararot or JBA ASB (Jojo Bizzare Adventure AllStarBattle) is pathetically short, and the DLC is the biggest abomination (high price, extremely short content). The aforementioned Jojo game cost me a fraction of the full price at CEX (I think you paid 40 pounds for a new AAA title back then), and I was still disappointed. They condensed several manga chapters into... an hour? Maybe 1.5? Besides, the gameplay was so boring that if it weren't for my fascination with the third part at the time, I'm not sure I would have finished the whole thing.

Basically, most anime-based games can be summed up like this:

  • cash grab.
  • poor or at least disappointing graphics from before the 1st or 2nd generation of consoles (and sometimes worse).
  • short single-player campaign, little multiplayer content.
  • triple-A price.
  • if you're unfamiliar with the series, you won't understand its plot due to the chaotic narrative.

And Bandai is (according to people who know this subject better) the epitome of ripping off the customer.

avatar

LOL! If you don't like Bandai or anime games, like I said, that's fine by me. I'm not going to argue with your point of view at all; I simply disagree, and I won't change mine. I enjoy them quite a bit. Hmm, well, in the JoJo's Bizarre Adventure anime, for the fifth season with Giorno (one of my favorites, by the way), they summarized 150 chapters of the manga into 37 for the animated series. So, if the game summarizes that many chapters in an hour, it's not the end of the world. Anyway, it's a matter of taste...

I always tend to buy things on sale (and I consider Steam and Epic's sales to be quite generous), and if it seems "expensive," I simply don't buy it. For example, I'd been wanting to play Jedi: Fallen Order since it came out, but I didn't buy it until a few weeks ago when I got it on sale on Epic Games for $6.99 instead of the original $69.99. So, I've never felt obligated or needed to spend $40 or more on a game, no matter how much I like it. Similarly, I'm a huge DBZ fan, from the SNES games to the most recent ones. I thoroughly enjoyed Xenoverse and never paid for DLC (I didn't buy them), no matter how much I liked the series. That's my personal experience and how I weigh up my game purchases. I haven't bought Red Dead Redemption 2 because in the latest sales it's never below $14, and I don't intend to pay $14 for such an old game. I'll wait until it drops to $10 or less, even if I play it in the next two years. I like games, but I like the game of managing my money even more. Cheers.

avatar

Its not about like or not like and Im not trying to convice you. Games based on anime are simply and simply weaker, which is not my invention, but a fact noticed in many places on the internet. That said, you can like whatever you want, I just pointed out that in every measurable aspect they are inferior to Western games (or Japanese ones, but not anime-based ones)

As for buying games, I only buy the ones I'm 100% sure I'll like on release, as I've been disappointed too many times. The rest are on sale – the less I care about them, the bigger the discount.

avatar

LOL! There's no accounting for taste... Hahaha, you have to know how to shop so you don't get disappointed.